Submission Rules

Opening Date – January 18th, 2018

•Early Bird Deadline – February 28th
•Regular Deadline – March 28th
•Late Deadline – April 28th
•Film Freeway Extended Deadline – May 28th

Please be advised that each deadline has its own submission entry fee. We will not screen films that have previously screened in the Kansas City area. You may submit your film on DVD or online for review. If accepted into the festival, films must be available on DVD (Blu-Ray Preferred). By entering through this form, you will need to make your payment by (1) registering online or (2) by sending a check for the appropriate amount (from the deadlines above) to: Photoplay, Inc., 3859 West 95th Street / Overland Park, Kansas 66206.

Awards & Prizes

Jury Awards: KIFF is proud to present Jury Awards for the best Social Justice Documentary ,Best Feature Narrative Film, Best Animation. The five award finalists in each category are listed in the festival program, and winners will be announced at the Filmmaker Recognition Brunch.

Cash Awards ($250.00) both Documentary and Narrative Jury Award Winners

Audience Awards: Audience participation at its best. Audience members vote for their favorite Narrative and Documentary Films.

Rules & Terms

Liability: In case of loss or damage to theatrical print, the Festival is limited to compensating the producer or distributor for the cost of replacing the lost or damaged footage.

Consent: Participation in the Kansas International Film Festival implies understanding and acceptance of festival regulations.

The festival accepts exhibition formats: Blu-Ray Preferred, DVD

1. The number, times, dates and locations of screenings of films are at the discretion of the Kansas International Film Festival. By entering the festival and if you film is selected, you are giving the Kansas International Film Festival permission to play your film. The film can not be withdrawn.

2. The print supplier will be responsible for the cost of shipment to the Festival. The Festival will return the print postage prepaid to the address provided by the supplier on the final acceptance contract. If you have a change of address, please contact us immediately to assure the safe return of your print.

3. The Kansas International Film Festival provides insurance for loss or damage up to a maximum value of $200 or the cost of replacement (whichever is less).

4. The Kansas International Film Festival is hereby granted the right to utilize a clip not to exceed 90 seconds in length from any film submitted and accepted for exhibition at the Festival for promotional purposes.


The individual or corporation submitting the film hereby warrants that it is authorized to commit the film for screening and understands, and accepts the requirements and regulations listed in General Festival Rules.

The undersigned shall indemnify and hold harmless, the Kansas International Film Festival and Photoplay, Inc. from and against any and all claims, liabilities, losses, damages, and expenses (including but not limited to attorney fee, and costs of the court) which may be incurred by reason of any claim involving copyright, trademark, credits, publicity, screening and loss of or damage to the screening videos entered.

Withoutabox logos are trademarks of Withoutabox, a DBA of Inc. or its affiliates.

Submission Form


The KIFF festival board annually seeks diverse programming that will entertain and inform our savvy movie-going audiences. It’s our privilege to screen some of the best films that may not otherwise have a chance to play in the KC Metro area.

Chosen by panels of local filmmakers, film educators and critics, this award is presented to the best Social Justice Documentary, Best Feature Narrative and Best Animation films . Five award finalists in each category are listed in the festival program, and winners will be announced at the Filmmaker Recognition Brunch on Sunday, Nov. 5.

Chosen by audiences and presented to the best Narrative and Documentary films. Winners are announced the following Monday after the festival, Nov. 13, 2017.

2016 Juried Prize Winners

The Kansas International Film Festival is proud to announce the winners of our Juried Prize. The winners were chosen by panels of local filmmakers, film educators and critics.

Train Station

Directed by 40 filmmakers from 25 different countries. When a mysterious train accident forces a man to change his plans, he is confronted with a series of choices, some big, some small. Each decision he makes leads to a different scenario, each one filmed by a different director with a different cast., Train Station is the second feature film by CollabFeature.


Directed by Hilary Linder, Renata, Evelyn, and Antonio were young children when their parents brought them to the U.S. in search of a better life; they were teenagers when their families were deported. Today, they are known as Dreamers. Indivisible takes place at a pivotal moment in their lives, as they fight for a pathway to citizenship and a chance to be reunited with their loved ones. With the future of immigration reform uncertain, will they see their families again?


2016 Audience Award Winners

All competition films are voted on by our audiences. Films are divided between narrative and documentary and compete in their respective categories. After seeing a film, audience members are given the opportunity to cast their vote on a four-point rating system to gauge how much they liked the film.



Past Juried Award Winners

2015: Best Documentary

Right Footed

2015: Best Narrative

House on Pine Street

2014: Best Documentary

120 Days

2014: Best Narrative

A Trip to the Island

2013: Best Documentary

Small Small Thing

2013: Best Narrative

K Effect: Stalin’s Editor

2012: Best Documentary


2012: Best Narrative

The Ghastly Love of Johnny X

2011: Best Documentary

Lesson Plan

2011: Best Narrative


2010: Best Documentary

Holy Wars

2010: Best Narrative

Soul at Peace

2009: Best Documentary

Vincent: A Life in Color

2009: Best Narrative

16 To Life

2008: Best Documentary

The Flyboys

2007: Best Documentary

The Edge of Eden: Living with Grizzlies

2007: Best Narrative

Midnight Clear

2006: Best Documentary

Hand of God

2006: Best Narrative

Mojave Phone Booth

2004: Best Documentary

Bellmore: The Unscene & Mojados: Through the Night (tied)

2004: Best Narrative

Independent Vision Award – Chris Gore